Council Members

Mr. Chalaka Fernando

General Manager – Sustainability

MSc (Chem Eng), BSc (Hons), CEnvP

Dr. Nishanthi Perera

Visiting Academic and Freelance Consultant

PhD in Protected Area Management; MPhil in Zoology and BSc – General

Mrs. Ramani Ellepola

Environmental Specialist/Consultant
Former Director General, Central Environmental Authority
Former President IEPSL

B Sc (Hon) Chemistry (Special)
Masters in Environmental Science
M I Chem C, CEnvP

Prof. Niranjanie Rathnayake

President, The Institution of Engineers, Sri Lanka

Emeritus Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, University of Moratuwa
BSc Eng (Cey), M Eng (Wales)
FIESL, Chartered Engineer
Member, IEPSL

Mr. Randeewa Malalasooriya

Managing Director Viridis Group & RR Environmental Services

MBA- Cardiff Metropolitan University, UK
BSc-University of Sri Jayawardenapura
Senior Leadership Diploma Duke Corporate Education, Switzerland
Lead Auditor ISO 9001, 14001, 22000 & OHSAS 18001

Ms. Chethika Gunasiri

Environmental Scientist – Sri Lanka Land Reclamation and Development Corporation

B.Sc. (Zoology) University of Colombo
M.Sc. (Earth Science) – Taiwan
MBA (University of Sri Jayawardenapura- Reading)

Mr. H.S. Premachandra

Director (Western Province)
Central Environmental Authority

BSc. Special (Hons)
MSc. M.I.Biol

Mrs. Kanthi De Silva

Acting Deputy Director General
Environmental Management & Assessment Division
Central Environmental Authority
Former Secretary IEPSL

BSc.(Hons), MSc. CEnvP

Mr. V. R. Sena Peiris

Founding Director/Chief Executive Officer of National Cleaner Production Center (NCPC)
Visiting Lecturer

B Sc in Engineering ( 2nd Class) University of Peradeniya
Cleaner Production Expert in 1997 under UNIDO program
Corporate member of Society of Engineers(UK), Institute of Plant Engineers(UK), Institute of Energy (UK), Institute of Environmental Professionals (SL),Sri Lanka Energy Managers Association (SL), International Solid Waste Management Association, Asia Pacific Roundtable for Sustainable Consumption and Production.

Mrs Shiranee Yasaratne

CEO/Managing Director, Sustainability Agenda (Pvt) Ltd.,
Senior Advisor, Biodiversity Sri Lanka

MSc Biochemistry, Molecular Biology & Gene Technology
BSc (Hons) Zoology
M I Biol; CEnvP
Winner of ZONTA Woman of Achievement: Environment category – 2006

Mr. Mahesh Jaltota

Deputy Director, Waste Management Division, Central environmental Authority, Battaramulla

M Sc Forestry and Environmental Management, University of Sri Jayawardanapura
Advance Diploma in Sustainable Urban Development, InWent ,Republic of Germany
18 years experience in Environmental Management

Mr. Sanjeewa Chulakumara

General Manager INSEE Ecocycle (Exco Member) 
Siam City Cement Lanka Limited
(Responsible for entire waste management business)

MBA Australian Institute of Business Administration
B.Sc. (Chemistry, Molecular Biology & Biotechnology, Computer, Economics & Management) -University of Peradeniya
Dip in Mgt American College of Higher Education
DPMM- Institute of Supply and Materials Management
Dip Corporate Environmental Management (IEPSL)

D.K. Lakmini Senadheera

Manager Sustainability Assurance and Advisory Services
Sustainable Future Group

PhD- Life Cycle Analysis- University of Sri Jayewardenepura
BSc( Hons)- Forestry and Environmental Science- University of Sri Jayewardenepura

Mr. Asela Iddawela

Chairman, Geological Survey and Mines Bureau
& Geological Survey and Mines Bureau (Technical Service)

Director (Projects), Presidential Task Force on Kidney Disease Prevention

Office Bearers



Finance Committee

Dr. I. DissanayakeHead
Mr. H.S. Premachandra Member
Mr. Randeewa MalalasoriyaMember
Mr. Asela IddawelaMember
Mr. A Rajaratnam Member
Mr. Trishan PereraMember

Academic And Examination Committee

Prof. Hemanthi Ranasinghe Head
Prof. Niranjanie Ratnayake Member
Mrs. Ramani EllepolaMember
Mrs. Dhammi PindeniyaMember
Mr. Chamath AbeysingheMember
Ms. Isuri DharmasomaMember
Ms. Chathurika GamlassageMember

Membership Committee

Mr. Chalaka FernandoHead
Prof. Niranjanie Ratnayake Member
Mrs. Kanthi de SilvaMember
Prof. W.L. SumathipalaMember
Ms. Seuwandi WIckramasingheMember
Mr. Sangeeth WickramasingheMember

Marketing and Communications Committee

Mrs. Shiranee YasaratneHead
Mr. Sanjeewa ChulakumaraMember
Mr. Randeewa MalalasooriyaMember
Mr. Janaka WijesekaraMember
Mr. Trishan PereraMember
Mr. Anuradha WanniarachchiMember

Research and Publication Committee

Dr. W.M.P.S.B. WahalaHead
Prof. W.L. SumathipalaMember
Prof. Hemanthi Ranasinghe Member
Mrs. Dharshani LahandapuraMember
Dr. Lakmini Senadheera Member
Ms. Chathurika GamlassageMember

Industrial Relationship Committee

Eng. V.R. Sena PeirisHead
Mr. Lalith WasanthaMember
Mr. Sanjeewa ChulakumaraMember
Mr. D. HettiarachchiMember
Mr. Samantha KumarasenaMember
Ms. Arosha Hemamali Member